Search Icon

Governor Names 11 Members to Newly Formed Economic Development Authority Board



Governor Terry E. Branstad « Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds



For more information contact:


Governor’s Office, 515.725.3518



Gov. Branstad names 11 members to newly formed Economic Development Authority board


DES MOINES – (September 16, 2011) Gov. Branstad today announced the appointment of 11 Iowans who will serve on the newly formed Economic Development Authority board. The new board replaces the Economic Development board, which House File 590 dissolved in July.


“I am pleased today to announce this 11 member board, which will oversee our state’s economic development,” said Branstad. “Lieutenant Governor Reynolds and I have set an ambitious goal of creating 200,000 new jobs for Iowans and raising family incomes by 25%. This board will play a large role in promoting Iowa to businesses looking to expand or relocate in Iowa.”


House File 590 requires two members from each of Iowa’s four newly-formed congressional districts, and three at-large members. Additionally, the bill requires one person who fits each of the following categories: a member of the Iowa Innovation Council; a member with expertise in finance, insurance or investment banking; a member who has professional expertise in advanced manufacturing; a member with professional expertise in small business development; a member who has professional expertise representing the interests of organized labor; and six members who are actively employed in the private, for-profit sector of the economy or who otherwise have substantial expertise in economic development.


The following individuals have been appointed to the Economic Development Authority board:


Dawn Ainger, Genova Technologies, Inc.; resident of Hiawatha

David Bernstein, State Steel; resident of Sioux City

Pete Brownell, Brownells; resident of Grinnell

Dr. Ted Crosbie, Monsanto; resident of Earlham

Brenda Cushing, Aviva; resident of West Des Moines

Larry Den Herder, Interstates Companies; resident of Sioux Center

Kay DeLange, Cargill; resident of Fremont

John Lisle, Lisle Corporation; resident of Clarinda

Rosemary Parson, FBL Financial Group, Inc.; resident of Urbandale

Delia Meier, Iowa 80 Group, Inc.; resident of Eldridge

Daniel White, John Deere Dubuque Works; resident of Dubuque


For more information, please visit



Sign up to receive news updates



Iowa Economic Development Authority
200 East Grand Avenue
Des Moines, Iowa 50309
Phone: 1.515.348.6200
email: Email Us

Drop Us a Line.

Stay Informed.
Sign Up to Receive Updates.
Emails highlighting economic development news, program updates and upcoming events.